Three Arizona Diamondbacks Named Gold Glove Award Finalists

By Matthew Hochberg

Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

While the 2013 season ended in disappointment for the 2013 Arizona Diamondbacks, one of the few bright spots was their defense. The league has apparently noticed their talented glove work and has named three D-Backs finalists for the Gold Glove Award – Patrick Corbin, Gerardo Parra and Paul Goldschmidt.

Not only did Corbin emerge as the team’s ace this season, but the 24-year-old impressed with his glove on the mound as well. He has an athletic build and is clearly more comfortable fielding his position than many other pitchers around the league.

Parra is searching for his second Gold Glove Award. In 2011, he took home the honor while playing in left field. This past season, however, the 26-year-old spent most of his time in right field. Throughout the year, Parra dazzled with his glove in the field, from robbing home runs to gunning down runners, Parra possesses a talented glove.

Goldschmidt has bursted onto the scene as not only one of the league’s premier hitters, but a top defenseman as well. While advancing through the minor leagues, the MVP candidate did not have such a great reputation when it came to fielding at first base, but has clearly improved from his early days.

"“[Goldschmidt has] improved defensively because he’s worked at it,” said Matt Williams, who was the team’s third-base coach before reportedly being hired as the Nationals’ manager on Friday. “He understands how important [the extra defensive work] is. It’s at least three days a week early in the morning during Spring Training. He works at it and he understands the importance of it.”"

Since their inception in 1998, the Snakes have won five Gold Glove Awards with three different players. Outfielder Steve Finley won in both 1999 and 2000, second baseman Orlando Hudson won in both 2006 and 2007 while Parra is the only current D-Back to bring the hardware back to Arizona.

Follow Venom Strikes

Follow Matthew Hochberg