Gerardo Parra and Paul Goldschmidt Win Gold Gloves

By Matthew Hochberg

Credit: Matt Kartozian-USA TODAY Sports

It’s official – Gerardo Parra and Paul Goldschmidt have each won National League Gold Glove Rawlings Gold Glove Awards. It is Parra’s second and Goldschmidt’s first.

The award is given annually to the player voted as the best defender at his position.

Parra won his first Gold Glove in 2011. This past season, the 26-year-old led the National League with 17 outfield assists and had a league-best of 41 defensive runs saved. He beat out Jason Heyward of the Atlanta Braves and Jay Bruce of the Cincinnati Reds for the award.

Goldschmidt, 26, not only had a stellar year at the plate but in the field as well. The MVP candidate led NL first basemen with 1,494 putouts. He also boasted a fielding percentage of .997, good for second-best in the league behind Todd Helton of the Colorado Rockies.

Goldschmidt is just the fourth D-Back in franchise history to receive the award, behind Steve Finley, Orlando Hudson and Parra.

Patrick Corbin, the third and final D-Back finalist for the Gold Glove Award, fell to St. Louis Cardinals starter Adam Wainwright.