Dbacks @ Dodgers Preview: Joc Pederson Is A Nightmare

By Manny Nunez

There hasn’t been a player from the opposing team in a while that has caused the Diamondbacks nightmares. If they usually do, its either well known veterans or top pitching. Who would have thought the Dodgers’ Joc Pederson would be the one who would bring back Arizona pitching to reality with his performance the first two games.

Aside from his grand slam on Friday night, Pederson hit a solo shot that tied the game late and sparked up another rally to give the Dodgers a 6-4 victory. Pederson’s last four hits have left the ballpark, and with six on the year, he is tied for the rookie lead with Toronto’s Devon Travis.

A lot of argument has been upon the Diamondbacks bullpen, and last night was a prime example of his erratic it has been. Jeremy Hellickson’s five and a third performance was erased after Evan Marshall blew a 4-3 lead in the seventh. The D-Backs bullpen has allowed six runs in just over five innings of work as well.

Things to note:

If you are a big sports nut, this is the first time in 15 years that pitchers with the same last name (Anderson) will face off.

Arizona’s Chase Anderson faced the Dodgers once this season, allowing three runs in five innings on April 10. He was given a no decision.

Brett Anderson on the other hand has yet to pass the fifth inning in his last two starts. Left handed hitters are clutch against him with a .414 batting average, which is worst in the majors.

Paul Goldschmidt and Mark Trumbo are batting around .500 against Brett Anderson.

Where: Dodger Stadium, Los Angeles

When: 1:10 PM

TV/Radio: FSN Arizona/KTAR 620AM

Pitching Matchup: Chase Anderson (0-1, 4.24 ERA) vs. Brett Anderson (1-1, 5.49 ERA)



Los Angeles:

Pederson CF

Rollins SS

Kendrick 2B

Gonzalez 1B

Guerrero LF

Ethier RF

Uribe 3B

Ellis C

Anderson P


Arizona Diamondbacks:

Bronson Arroyo

Patrick Corbin

David Hernandez

Matt Stites

Gerald Laird

Oscar Hernandez

Jake Lamb

Archie Bradley

Los Angeles Dodgers:

Brandon Beachy

Kenley Jansen

Brandon McCarthy

Joel Peralta

Hyun-Jin Ryu

Chris Withrow

Carl Crawford

Yasiel Puig