Diamondbacks News

Arizona Diamondbacks Win Wilson Defensive Team of the Year


After a stellar year defensively, the Arizona Diamondbacks have been named the Wilson Defensive Team of the Year.

It was a great year defensively for the Arizona Diamondbacks which culminated in Paul Goldschmidt and A.J. Pollock each wining a Gold Glove.

More from Venom Strikes

Not only were those two awarded for their great defense, the team was awarded for their great defensive performance on the season as the D-backs were named the Wilson Defensive Team of the Year.

In 2015, the Diamondbacks led the MLB in defensive runs saved, outpacing the World Series Champion Kansas City Royals, 71-56.

With guys like Goldschmidt and Pollock out on the field defensively, along with a plethora of young talented infielders and outfielders, Arizona could continue to dominate this team award for many years to come.

In baseball, protecting runs is just as important as scoring them and having a defense that can back their pitcher up with good defense and effort is a plus. Under Chip Hale, the Diamondbacks are bringing a renewed energy defensively to the field, and with that energy are playing competitive baseball again.

Next: Paul Goldschmidt Wins 2105 Silver Slugger Award

It’s becoming more and more apparent by the day, that the “D” in Diamondbacks, stands for defense.